Question about which files get modified during IdP upgrades

Cantor, Scott cantor.2 at osu.edu
Wed Apr 19 18:59:24 EDT 2017


On 4/19/17, 5:46 PM, "users on behalf of Darren Struthers" <users-bounces at shibboleth.net on behalf of dstruthers at plu.edu> wrote:

> Is this normal? I had previously never touched this file in our deployment, so my default expectation would be that the newer
> version would be copied over during the upgrade process. The upgrade was performed per the Wiki's instructions, as far as I'm
> aware.

I don't feel like tracking down the exact documentation that explains what the upgrade does precisely, but no user file that already exists is ever touched. This isn't RPM, there's no automatic detection of unmodified files, we'd have to build all that ourselves.

Barring mistakes, which are rare but not common, there can be no harm from this because no existing feature will generally require changing those files unless it's called out in the release notes as fixing a bug. Duo was not an existing feature, it was a new one.

-- Scott




More information about the users mailing list