Question about which files get modified during IdP upgrades

Darren Struthers dstruthers at plu.edu
Wed Apr 19 19:27:46 EDT 2017


Scott,

Thank you for the clarification. That was all I needed to know.

Darren

On Wed, Apr 19, 2017 at 3:59 PM, Cantor, Scott <cantor.2 at osu.edu> wrote:

> On 4/19/17, 5:46 PM, "users on behalf of Darren Struthers" <
> users-bounces at shibboleth.net on behalf of dstruthers at plu.edu> wrote:
>
> > Is this normal? I had previously never touched this file in our
> deployment, so my default expectation would be that the newer
> > version would be copied over during the upgrade process. The upgrade was
> performed per the Wiki's instructions, as far as I'm
> > aware.
>
> I don't feel like tracking down the exact documentation that explains what
> the upgrade does precisely, but no user file that already exists is ever
> touched. This isn't RPM, there's no automatic detection of unmodified
> files, we'd have to build all that ourselves.
>
> Barring mistakes, which are rare but not common, there can be no harm from
> this because no existing feature will generally require changing those
> files unless it's called out in the release notes as fixing a bug. Duo was
> not an existing feature, it was a new one.
>
> -- Scott
>
>
> --
> To unsubscribe from this list send an email to
> users-unsubscribe at shibboleth.net
>



-- 
Darren M. Struthers
Systems Developer

Information & Technology Services
Pacific Lutheran University
Tacoma, WA 98447
Phone: 253.535.7470
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://shibboleth.net/pipermail/users/attachments/20170419/a9b481ae/attachment.html>


More information about the users mailing list