<div dir="ltr"><div class="gmail_quote"><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0 0 0 .8ex;border-left:1px #ccc solid;padding-left:1ex"><div style="word-wrap:break-word;color:rgb(0,0,0);font-size:14px;font-family:Calibri,sans-serif"><div>Is it possible to logout without closing the browser?</div></div></blockquote><div><br></div><div>Short answer: yes as of 3.2.0.</div><div>Long answer follows.</div><div><br></div><div>First, we need to clarify the meaning of "logout." I'll define it as follows: the IdP session ends and the application sessions of all services accessed during the SSO session are ended. That definition I would argue is most consistent with user expectation. The first part is easy and the second part, commonly called single logout (SLO), is surprisingly difficult. SLO is new is 3.2.0.</div><div><br></div><div>SLO is and probably always will be a best-effort technology for most protocols the IdP supports. As for the UI, we list all accessed services and provide a clear indication of the result of attempting to logout of each. For the SAML2 protocol, the reported result is accurate and can be relied upon. For the CAS protocol, it is not strictly accurate due to fundamental limitations in the protocol and current state of browser security policy (i.e. CORS).</div><div><br></div><div>I have a TODO to write up documentation on logout capabilities in 3.2.0, which your message prompts me to do. I'll post that to this thread when it's completed.</div><div> </div><blockquote class="gmail_quote" style="margin:0 0 0 .8ex;border-left:1px #ccc solid;padding-left:1ex"><div style="word-wrap:break-word;color:rgb(0,0,0);font-size:14px;font-family:Calibri,sans-serif"><div>  We want to be able the logout and if the user returns go to the logout screen.</div></div></blockquote><div><br></div><div>That's now how it works. If you logout of the IdP you'll get a page asking whether you want to logout of everything (all services accessed during your SSO session). Either way if you return to the IdP from a service whose application session is ended, you'll be prompted to login in again. You will not see the logout page; but I would argue it amounts to the same thing: the user has to log in again.</div><div><br></div><div>M</div><div><br></div></div></div>