Chrome background process affecting logouts
Dunn, Adam M
Adam.M.Dunn at uth.tmc.edu
Fri Feb 20 16:40:39 EST 2015
We've recently been seeing a large number of Chrome users turn up with an advanced setting in Chrome to leave it running in the background after closing ALL browsers. None of them seem to have any knowledge of turning this on, so it would seem that it's being done by default.
This is a concern to us for SSO enabled applications that leverage local logout, where we display an instruction telling users to close all of their browser windows if they wish to complete the logout process. With this Chrome setting that practice does you no good since Chrome never really closes.
I understand it's a browser issue, and the fix is to tell users to disable this, but most users will know nothing about how to muck with these settings. We're looking at pushing an enterprise GPO setting to disable this, but that doesn't begin to do anything for personal devices.
Short of using SLO for every app (many of which don't support it), I'm curious to know how are others addressing this issue with Chrome?
Thanks,
Adam
More information about the users
mailing list