system/messages/messages_*.properties was deleted in upgrading

Takeshi NISHIMURA takeshi at nii.ac.jp
Thu Apr 13 05:16:20 EDT 2017


Thanks Rod,

I thought Scott suggested that as follows, but I might misunderstand the meaning.

> 2016/11/22 22:56、Cantor, Scott <cantor.2 at osu.edu> wrote:
> 
> The general question of how to handle the "official" translations is certainly open. I was thinking it made sense to put them in user land but that may be wrong and certainly isn't necessary.
> 
> We just have to set some ground rules. The installer won't remove files in system/ it doesn't know about, but we don't want to accidentally step on anything either.

Best regards,
Takeshi

> 2017/04/13 17:23、Rod Widdowson <rdw at steadingsoftware.com> wrote:
> 
>> Nothing in system/... is ever preserved during upgrades.
> 
> Now I'm back at my desk in [1] it says 
> 
>> "system" : Contains read-only internal system configuration that should not be modified.
>> The contents of this directory tree will be deleted and re-created by an install or upgrade.
> 
> You need to put youe messages into the "messages" directory.  The behavior of this changed in V3.3 to be more in the expected line
> [1] again says:
> 
>> As of V3.3, this contains only new or overriden message properties or post-install translations, 
>> with all of the default messages and translations moved to the system tree.
> 
> Hope this helps
> 
> Rod
> 
> [1] https://wiki.shibboleth.net/confluence/display/IDP30/Configuration#Configuration-InstallationLayout



More information about the i18n mailing list